Fish: To eat, or not to eat?

I’ve been there before: standing in the supermarket wondering what fish is OK to eat. While I don’t regularly buy fish for myself, I still want to make a conscious decision regarding sustainability every time I do buy some fish. So, I can stand there in the aisle for a good 10 minutes trying to figure out from labels and packaging which might be my best bet.

I recently read an article regarding the sustainability of mackerel (see here on BBC news) where they had a link to the Marine Conservation Society “Fish to Eat” website. Here you can see what the MCS considers fish to eat, and fish to avoid!

Take a look at: http://www.fishonline.org/fish-advice

I will definitely be looking at this for my next shopping…

Leave a Reply

